Announcing the Winners of the 2022 Media for a Just Society Awards


News of Interest

Announcing the Winners of the 2022 Media for a Just Society Awards

September 6, 2022 | by Evident Change

MJS Awards 2021

Evident Change is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Media for a Just Society Awards. In seven categories, we recognize the creators of books, films, podcasts and more that unearth new angles, look more deeply, and offer insight into our society’s complex social systems and the myriad ways they can change the lives of those who come into contact with them.

Categories include book, film, print/online journalism, media by a person who is incarcerated, podcast/radio, television/video, and youth media. Past winners include podcasters Sarah Koenig and Emmanuel Dzotsi (Serial); writer Ta-Nehisi Coates (“The Case for Reparations”); journalist Ko Bragg (Reveal); David Simon (creator of HBO’s The Wire); and other illustrious journalists, writers, filmmakers, and creators.

This year’s winners are: 


Book winnerBOOK

The Rage of Innocence: How America Criminalizes Black Youth
Kristin Henning


Film winnerFILM

Jennifer Redfearn
Red Antelope Films



Journalism winnerJOURNALISM

Invisible Kid
Maddy Crowell
The Atavist Magazine


Media by a person who is incarcerated winnerMEDIA BY A PERSON WHO IS INCARCERATED

Michigan Needs 'Second Look' Legislation, I'm Just One Example of Why
Susan Brown
Lansing State Journal

Podcast/radio winnerPODCAST/RADIO

Nora McInerny
Terrible, Thanks for Asking



TV/video winnerTV/VIDEO

"Sisters Rising"
Willow O'Feral and Brad Heck
America ReFramed



Youth winnerYOUTH MEDIA

Not Allowed to Be a Kid”           
Amaru Howard
Youth Communication