The 20th Annual Media for a Just Society Awards



The 20th Annual Media for a Just Society Awards

October 2 | 7:00pm - 10:00pm | The W Hotel, San Francisco, CA

MJS LogoThe MJS Awards are the only national recognition of media whose work furthers public understanding of criminal justice, juvenile justice, child welfare, and adult protection issues.

This year we honored Andrew Solomon, author of the landmark book Far From the Tree, with the Distinguished Achievement Award in Nonfiction. Dr. Solomon joined NCCD, the MJS judges, and award winners in seven categories at the MJS Awards ceremony.

This year's MJS winners are:

The accomplished panel of judges included eminent professionals from the fields of journalism, television, juvenile justice, and philanthropy:

  • Sonja Sohn, star of HBO's The Wire and ABC's Body of Proof, and founder of ReWired for Change;
  • Daniel Klaidman, national political and White House correspondent for Newsweek and The Daily Beast and author of Kill or Capture;
  • Cory Johnson, Editor, Bloomberg Television;
  • Julio Marcial, Program Director, The California Wellness Foundation;
  • Liz Ryan, President and Chief Executive Officer, Campaign for Youth Justice; and
  • Quinn Delaney, founder and President, Akonadi Foundation.

We invite you to make a donation to support the MJS Awards. The MJS Awards ceremony are attended by a wide range of individuals who support NCCD’s mission, including foundation and corporate leaders, business executives, lawyers, government agencies, community-based agencies, and concerned individuals, as well as MJS judges and winners.

The W Hotel
181 3rd Street
San Francisco 94103